Continuing Education & Scholarships


The AIA Northern Nevada’s Scholarship Program was established in 1994 by local architects who wished to reach out to students and help their progression into architects. The Chapter has been awarding scholarships in varying amounts each year since 1995.

Graham Erskine Memorial Scholarship 

The Graham Erskine Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of Graham Erskine, renowned Reno architect and author of Nevada’s licensing act. Graham Erskine worked in Reno from 1946 until his death in 1991 and designed a number of landmark buildings including schools, hospitals, and public buildings. The Graham Erskine Scholarship has been awarded since 1995. The applicant is required to be a full-time student enrolled in a NAAB accredited Architecture Program. Additional support for this scholarship is provided by AIA National’s Component Scholarship Grant Program. The Scholarship is awarded to the student in May/June each year and applied towards tuition in the fall months for the following school year.

Raymond Hellmann Memorial Scholarship

In 2003, we established a second scholarship program in memory of Raymond Hellmann, prominent Reno architect. Ray Hellmann won several awards for his design work and service to the architectural community. He is known for his Hamilton Manufacturing Facility building and the Fleishmann Planetarium at University of Nevada, Reno. In 1995 he also won the AIA Nevada Silver Medal. With an understanding that the AIA Northern Nevada’s geographical region does not have its own NAAB accredited program of Architecture, The Hellmann Memorial Scholarship is awarded to final year high school students accepted into NAAB accredited programs of architecture and students currently enrolled in the Architectural Design Program at Truckee Meadows Community College.

2019 Scholarship Program

For 2019, we are very pleased to announce that our total scholarship award budget will be $6,000. The awarded funds will be divided between our two Scholarships by way of our Scholarship Committee upon review of this year’s applicants.

  • Applications posted below:

  • Graham Erskine Application Announcement and Application (college students)

  • Raymond Hellmann Announcement and Application (high school seniors)

  • Applications due in April 26, 2019 (emailed or postmarked)

  • Scholarships awarded May/June of 2019

  • Scholarship award amounts change yearly; however, they will be made in increments of $500 and will be paid in the fall of ’19 towards the ’19 – ’20 academic year.  

Thank you for your continued interest in our scholarship programs. Should you have any questions, please contact